Skip to content

Treecreeper on Silver

April 8, 2011

I’m sure I’m not the only one who has mistaken the thought of seeing a mouse run up a tree to take that second look and realise it’s a Treecreeper.  This Treecreeper, was near to the silver birch trees, and for reference I took a small piece of the paper like bark. It holds the essence of the structure which I have incorporated into the picture. I didn’t want to do a photographic representation of the bark, but to concentrate on its key elements and lines which make up this picture.

Treecreeper,certhia familiaris,bird art,acrylic painting,bird painting,nature art,nature painting,buy wildlife art,buy bird paintings,buy bird art online,birders art,english bird painting,UK bird art,

To add the detail I used a fine liner graphic pen to pick out the key bark lines, which has proved to work well in the overall composition, and by using multiple layers of white acrylic paint I’ve produced a good bark texture as well.I left the central areas of the pattern with a limited number of coats to allow the darker  under painting to shine through a little, giving the viewer a sense of depth.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 6, 2011 09:46

    You got great points there, that’s why I always love checking out your blog.

Leave a Reply

